Vocal Praise: VIXX

So here’s a group that I was actually quite dubious about, I had to ask fellow writer Kaye what she thought of them before I listened to them because I knew if she liked it, I would. So, after she told me the song was “nice”, I decided to check it out and it turns out I enjoyed the song and their voices, so this was already a winning combination.

So I’ve spent some time looking into them and who is who, what each member sounds like and so on. I then later proceeded to watch their live performances as I felt it would be better to hear how they fare live compared to being on a recording. Needless to say, I’m highly impressed.


Debut stage on Mnet’s M! Countdown.

This is a very vocally strong group, for the most part they were all on point with their vocals, though there were a few small microphone problems through. As a whole, all the members sound really great on their own and together, there is not one voice I don’t enjoy listening to so I think I’m actually going to have problems picking a favourite in terms of vocals within this group. Though, I have two I’m in favour of, just purely based on my natural bias towards high & power vocalists.

The first is Leo (main part is 2:15-2:40, the member with the shortest hair) and his fairly high range. Generally he has a very smooth and sweet sounding voice, hitting high notes with some evident ease. Power notes are executed without too much force but you can see he is really putting a lot of effort into what he’s doing. Having a sweet voice with a higher range and the ability to hit power notes leaves him as a perfect candidate for favourite vocals. He basically ticks all the boxes of what I look for in a singer.

Then next up we have our other main vocalist Ken (2:41-2:45, power notes [with mic problems] 3:18-3:28, member with the lightest hair). His voice actually stood out to me while I watched the music video for Super Hero. He also has quite a high vocal range as well (if not just a little lower than Leo’s) and his general tone while he sings is very appealing. He also seems to hit high and power notes comfortably as well. Basically another perfect singer in my eyes and the two of them are on the same level for me.

I really love all of the vocals within this group, but Leo and Ken’s voices stand out the me the most for sure. I’m looking forward to hearing other songs that this group is going to release and I hope they follow the same level of quality in terms of the song in general and the vocals. I really shouldn’t have been so doubting prior to listening to them as they are a really talented group with two great songs on their debut single. A group definitely worth keeping an eye on. Do any of you have a favourite yet, either in terms of vocals or just in general?

2 responses to “Vocal Praise: VIXX

  1. i was actually happy with their live, and the song was greatly arranged, well for my taste. what’s better to know is that they are from Jellyfish, so i definitely was anticipating to sound very well during lives, as other artists from Jellyfish have great vocals on them. anyways, as of right now, i don’t have a particular favorite, but i have to agree with the vocals of Leo and Ken, it definitely grabs your attention, especially their… own high notes/adlibs/long notes whatever they’re called near the end, it gave me a slight natural high since i love hearing those type of notes for a song live. i’m really looking forward to them, because a majority of the batch of rookies for 2012 have been very impressive. =]

  2. Reblogged this on Simply Here and commented:
    i was actually happy with their live, and the song was greatly arranged, well for my taste. what’s better to know is that they are from Jellyfish, so i definitely was anticipating to sound very well during lives, as other artists from Jellyfish have great vocals on them. anyways, as of right now, i don’t have a particular favorite, but i have to agree with the vocals of Leo and Ken, it definitely grabs your attention, especially their… own high notes/adlibs/long notes whatever they’re called near the end, it gave me a slight natural high since i love hearing those type of notes for a song live. i’m really looking forward to them, because a majority of the batch of rookies for 2012 have been very impressive. =]

Leave a Reply

